Editorial Team

TLI's current Editorial Team is made up of two Co-Editors and four Associate Editors.


Dr. Katarina Mårtensson is Senior Lecturer in Higher Education Development at Lund University, Sweden. Her role focuses on strategic editorial work, together with the rest of the editorial team, as well as the day-to-day running of the journal. Katarina has a prior editorial experience with IJAD, the International Journal for Academic Development, as well as a five-year-long commitment to the ISSOTL Board.  She has a strong commitment to making SoTL go international, across institutional and geographical contexts. Katarina’s current research and practice in academic development are based on a history of social networks, informal learning, organizational change, scholarship of teaching and learning, academic culture, and educational leadership.

Dr. Kelly Schrum is a Professor of Higher Education at George Mason University (Fairfax, Virginia, USA). Her role at TLI focuses on strategic editorial work as well as expanding TLI’s digital capacity, including reviewing digital publications and content focused on SOTL in the digital age. Her work focuses on teaching and learning in the digital age, including hybrid and online learning environments and scholarly digital storytelling. A historian by training, she has directed more than 60 digital humanities and digital teaching and learning projects.

Associate Editors

Dr. Ketevan Kupatadze is a Senior Lecturer of Spanish in the Department of World Languages and Cultures at Elon University (Elon, North Carolina, USA). She was Elon’s Center for Engaged Learning Scholar for years 2017-19 working on student-faculty pedagogical partnerships in instructional design and curricular development. Ketevan has worked in multi-institutional and multinational settings on numerous SoTL projects, including flipped classroom pedagogy and discussion-based, collaborative approaches to teaching. She has led the planning and implementation of the new Spanish curriculum at Elon focused on the development of students’ intercultural knowledge and critical thinking abilities, in combination with the advancement of their linguistic competence. Ketevan has also co-led the department’s efforts to integrate meaningful writing assignments throughout the language curriculum as part of the University’s Writing Excellence Initiative.

Jenny Löfgreen did a PhD in materials chemistry (University of Toronto, 2013) but realized along the way that talking and writing about research were more fun than being in the lab. So she pivoted, starting with writing instruction for TAs in chemistry, then moving to engineering communication, and finally transitioning into academic development in the Faculty of Engineering at Lund University. Along the way she also worked freelance as a developmental editor for the Nature Research Editing Service. In Lund, her work has covered academic writing, public speaking, teaching and learning in higher education, and SoTL. She is currently working on a new PhD in engineering education, focusing on epistemological assumptions involved in academic development and SoTL in STEM higher education. In July 2022, she is moving back to the University of Toronto to take a position as Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream in the Engineering Communication Program.

Dr. Susannah McGowan is the associate director for curriculum design at Georgetown University (Washington, D.C., USA). Her role as associate editor focuses on ensuring a smooth editorial process as well as supporting the co-editors. Her work in SoTL extends over the past 20 years working in both the US and the UK to embed a SoTL ethos in educational development programming and academic culture. Susannah’s research interests include equity-based educational development, threshold concepts, technology-enhanced learning, and student-academic staff partnerships.

Dr. Chris Ostrowdun (PhD) has been involved with SoTL and ISSOTL since 2016 in regional, national, and international capacities. He is an associate editor for Teaching & Learning Inquiry, on the ISSOTL Publications Committee, and a co-chair of the ISSOTL Student Engagement and Co-Inquiry Interest Group. His research interests are in inclusion, disability, social justice, and equity in education. Chris is a Lecturer in Education at the University of Leeds (UK) and holds a PhD in Learning Sciences from the University of Calgary (Canada).

Editorial Board

The members of the Editorial Board provide ongoing guidance and input for substantive work of the journal. They come from a range of disciplines, geographical regions, institutional types, and career stages--with the scholarship of teaching and learning and ISSOTL as their common ground.

Earle Abrahamson, University of Hertfordshire, United Kingdom

Kasturi Behari-Leak, University of Cape Town, South Africa

Dan Bernstein, University of Kansas, United States

Jeffrey Bernstein, Eastern Michigan University, United States

Vivienne Bozalek, University of the Western Cape, South Africa

Nancy Chick, Rollins College, United States

Chng Huang Hoon, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Mary Ann Danielson, Creighton University, United States

Marcia Devlin, Deakin University, Australia

Joëlle Fanghanel, University of West London, United Kingdom

Peter Felten, Elon University, United States

Balbir Gurm, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Canada

Mary Huber, Carnegie Foundation, United States

Pat Hutchings, Carnegie Foundation, United States

Melinda Messineo, Ball State University, United States

Jennifer Meta Robinson, Indiana University, United States

Gary Poole, University of British Columbia (emeritus), Canada

Torgny Roxå, Lund University, Sweden

Kathy Takayama, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Editorial Staff

Allison Loughry, Production Manager, George Mason University, U.S.

Angela Myers, Copyeditor, U.S.

Sophia Abbot, Special Projects Associate, George Mason University, U.S.