Indigenous and Postcolonial Studies: Tensions and Interrelationships, Creative and Critical Interventions


  • Sophie McCall Simon Fraser University
  • Deanna Reder Simon Fraser University

Author Biographies

Sophie McCall, Simon Fraser University

Sophie McCall is a settler scholar and Associate Professor in the English department at Simon Fraser University. She has published widely on topics such as textualizing oral history, the struggle for Indigenous rights, decolonization, resurgence, and reconciliation. She is the author of First Person Plural: Aboriginal Storytelling and the Ethics of Collaborative Authorship (UBC P, 2011), a finalist for the Gabrielle Roy Prize for English Canadian literary criticism and the Canada Prize from the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences. She is co-editor, with Deanna Reder (Cree-Métis), David Gaertner, and Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill (Métis), of Read, Listen, Tell: Indigenous Stories from Turtle Island (Wilfred Laurier UP 2017); with Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill of The Land We Are: Artists and Writers Unsettle the Politics of Reconciliation (ARP Books 2015); with Christine Kim and Melina Baum Singer of Cultural Grammars of Nation, Diaspora, and Indigeneity in Canada (WLUP 2012); and editor of Anahareo's Devil in Deerskins (U Manitoba P, 2014), the first book-length life narrative published by an Indigenous woman author in Canada.

Deanna Reder, Simon Fraser University

Deanna Reder (Cree-Métis) is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Indigenous Studies and English at Simon Fraser University. She is Principal Investigator of a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) funded project called "The People and the Text: Indigenous Writing in Northern North America up to 1992." See She has co-edited four anthologies and is a founding member of the Indigenous Literary Studies Association (ILSA), serving on the ILSA council from 2015-2018 (see; currently she is co-chair, with SFU’s Dr. Sophie McCall, of the Indigenous Voices Awards (see She also is the Series Editor for the Indigenous Studies Series at Wilfrid Laurier University Press and in 2018 was inducted into the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists as part of the Royal Society of Canada.