A Classification of the Vegetation of Boothia Peninsula and the Northern District of Keewatin, N.W.T.


  • D.C. Thompson




Plant distribution, Plant-soil relationships, Tundra ecology, Wildlife habitat, Boothia Peninsula, Nunavut, Canadian Arctic Islands


The vegetation of Boothia Peninsula and the northern District of Keewatin (212,500 km²) was surveyed, and a vegetation classification suitable for synoptic level surveys of wildlife habitat was produced. A total of 45 plant communities was recognized on Boothia Peninsula. Principal components and discriminant function analysis were used to identify seven significant groupings of these communities. These seven groups, designated as the vegetation groups for Boothia Peninsula, were: Sedge Meadows, Willow Hummocks, Lichen-Dryas Plateaus, Seepage Slopes, Moss Tundra, Purple-Saxifrage Plains, and Rock Barrens. Forty-two plant communities were recognized in the northern District of Keewatin. The six significant groupings which resulted, and which were designated as the vegetation groups for the northern District of Keewatin, were: Sedge Meadows, Willow-Sedge Meadows, Orthophyll Shrub, Lichen-Heath Plateaus, Lichen Uplands, and Barrens. The species composition and relationship to the physical environment for each of these vegetation groups is described.