The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

AJER is a scholarly quarterly journal, published in Canada, that is devoted to the dissemination, interpretation, critique, and support of all forms of scholarly inquiry into education, broadly construed, and the fields associated with education both locally and globally.

Staff

Editor Anna Kirova

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik
Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Leah Armontrout Spencer

AJER Editorial Advisory Board

Susan M. Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Rita Gardiner, Western University Shibao Guo, University of Calgary

Sandra Kouritzin, University of Manitoba Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong Joe Norris, Brock University Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School

of Education

AJER Editorial Review Board

(listed on next page)

ajer gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

AJER Editorial Review Board

James Anderson, University of British Columbia

Jonathan Anuik, University of Alberta Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Oksana Babenko, University of Alberta

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Universidade Federal do

Espírito Santo-UFES (Brazil)

Nadine Bartlett, University of Manitoba Tanya Beran, University of Calgary

Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario

Susan M. Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University

Katie Brubacher, University of Alberta Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge

Charalambous, University of Cyprus

Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Maria Cutumisu, University of Alberta

Susan Drake, Brock University

William Dunn, University of Alberta Joseph Engemann, Brock University Richard Enns, University of Calgary Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Amy Farrell, University of Manitoba Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Rita Gardiner, Western University

David Geelan, University of Notre Dame Australia

George Georgiou, University of Alberta Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Douglas Gleddie, University of Alberta

Shibao Guo, University of Calgary Erika Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge

Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University

Steven Khan, Brock University Mijung Kim, University of Alberta

Kim Koh, University of Calgary

Sandra G. (Sandie) Kouritzin, University of Manitoba

Megan Laverty, Columbia University Joseph Levitan, McGill University Xin Ma, University of Kentucky

Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberta Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa

Richard E. (Mort) Morehouse, Viterbo University

Francine Morin, University of Manitoba Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Wendy S. Nielsen, University of Wollongong

Joe Norris, Brock University

Greg Ogilvie, University of Lethbridge

Mike Parr, Nipissing University

Sharon Pelech, University of Lethbridge

Erin Peters-Burton, George Mason University

Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba

Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary

Toni Samek, University of Alberta Nancy Spencer, University of Alberta Erin Spring, University of Calgary

Lisa Son, Barnard College

Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta

Lauren Sulz, University of Alberta Jo Towers, University of Calgary Jessica Van Vliet, University of Alberta Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta Jing Xiao, University of Saskatchewan

Jonathan (Jon) Young, University of Manitoba

Christina Wai Mui Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Education