The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

AJER is a scholarly quarterly journal, published in Canada, that is devoted to the dissemination, interpretation, critique, and support of all forms of scholarly inquiry into education, broadly construed, and the fields associated with education both locally and globally.

Staff

Editor Anna Kirova

Interim Editor Bonnie Watt

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik

Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Leah Armontrout Spencer

AJER Editorial Advisory Board

Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich

School of Education

Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta

David Ackerman, California State University,

Northridge

Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge

Dawn C. Wallin, University of Saskatchewan

Joe Norris, Brock University

Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Mike Corbett, Acadia University

Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University

Rita Gardiner, Western University

Sandra Kouritzin, University of Manitoba

Shibao Guo, University of Calgary

Susan M. Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University

Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong

AJER Editorial Review Board

(listed on next page)

ajer gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

AJER Editorial Review Board

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo—UFES (Brazil) Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Amy Farrell, University of Manitoba Andre Grace, University of Alberta Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Barry Down, Murdoch University Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Brooke Madden, University of Alberta Cameron Hauseman, University of Manitoba

Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University Catherine Chua, University of Calgary

Charalambos Charalambous, University of Cyprus Cheryl Bauman-Buffone, Western University

Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta

Christina M. Rinaldi, University of Alberta Christina Wai Mui Yu, Hong Kong Institute of

Education

Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University

David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge

David Geelan, University of Notre Dame Australia

David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge Dawn Wallin, University of Saskatchewan

Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University

Douglas Gleddie, University of Alberta Elaine Greidanus, University of Lethbridge Erika Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Erin Peters-Burton, George Mason University

Erin Spring, University of Calgary

Eunice Eunhee Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino

Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta Francine Morin, University of Manitoba George Georgiou, University of Alberta Greg Ogilvie, University of Lethbridge Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Jac J. W. Andrews, University of Calgary;

James Anderson, University of British Columbia

James Colin Field, University of Calgary jan jagodzinski, University of Alberta Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberta Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Jessica Van Vliet, University of Alberta

Jo Towers, University of Calgary Joe Norris, Brock University

Jonathan Anuik, University of Alberta

Jonathan (Jon) Young, University of Manitoba

Joseph Engemann, Brock University Joseph Levitan, McGill University Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Kim Koh, University of Calgary

Lace Marie Brogden, Laurentian University

Larry Prochner, University of Alberta

Lauren Sulz, University of Alberta Lia Daniels, University of Alberta

Lisa Son, Barnard College

Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University
Lyle Hamm, University of New Brunswick
Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta
Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University
Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke
Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta
Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary
Marc Higgins, University of Alberta
Maria Cutumisu, University of Alberta
Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba

Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Megan Laverty, Columbia University Melody Viczko, Western University Merli Tamtik, University of Manitoba Michael Corbett, Acadia University

Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University

Michelle (Shelly) Russell-Mayhew, University of Calgary

Mijung Kim, University of Alberta Mike Parr, Nipissing University

Nadine Bartlett, University of Manitoba Nina Howe, Concordia University Oksana Babenko, University of Alberta Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario Pamela Adams, University of Lethbridge

Paul Hart, University of Regina

Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Randolph Wimmer, University of Alberta Richard Enns, University of Calgary

Richard E. (Mort) Morehouse, Viterbo University

Rita Gardiner, Western University Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University

Saad Chahine, Queen's University Sandra Dixon, University Lethbridge

Sandra G. (Sandie) Kouritzin, University of Manitoba

Sandra L. Gibbons, University of Victoria Sharon Pelech, University of Lethbridge

Shauna Butterwick, University of British Columbia

Shibao Guo, University of Calgary Steven Khan, Brock University Susan Drake, Brock University

Susan M. Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University (MSVU)

Tanya Beran, University of Calgary Thelma Gunn, University of Lethbridge

Tin Yau Joe Lo, Hong Kong Institute of Education

Toni Samek, University of Alberta Virginia Tze, University of Manitoba VP Joshith, Central University of Kerala Wendy S. Nielsen, University of Wollongong

William Dunn, University of Alberta Xin Ma, University of Kentucky Yan Guo, University of Calgary Ying Cui, University of Alberta