The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

AJER is a scholarly quarterly journal, published in Canada, that is devoted to the dissemination, interpretation, critique, and support of all forms of scholarly inquiry into education, broadly construed, and the fields associated with education both locally and globally.

Staff

Anna Kirova **Editor**

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik Administrator **Yvonne Norton**

Editorial Assistant **Leah Armontrout Spencer**

> **Dorine Chalifoux Translator**

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Leah Armontrout Spencer

AJER Editorial Advisory Board

Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Education Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge

Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge Dawn C, Wallin, University of Saskatchewan Joe Norris, Brock University

Shibao Guo, University of Calgary

Susan M. Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University

Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong

Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan

Sandra Kouritzin, University of Manitoba

Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University

Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary

Mike Corbett, Acadia University

Rita Gardiner, Western University

AJER Editorial Review Board

(listed on next page)

ajer gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

AJER Editorial Review Board

Lia Daniels, University of Alberta

Lisa Son, Barnard College

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre v Maestra (PUCMM) Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Amy Farrell, University of Manitoba Andre P. Grace, University of Alberta Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Barry Down, Murdoch University Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Brooke Madden, University of Alberta Cameron Hauseman, University of Manitoba Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Education Catherine Chua, University of Calgary Cheryl Bauman-Buffone, Western University Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge David Geelan, Griffith University David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge Dawn C. Wallin, University of Saskatchewan Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta Elaine Greidanus, University of Lethbridge Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Erin Peters-Burton, George Mason University Erin Spring, University of Calgary Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba George Georgiou, University of Alberta Gregory Ogilvie, University of Lethbridge Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary James Anderson, University of British Columbia James C. Field, University of Calgary jan jagodzinski, University of Alberta Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberta Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Jessica Van Vliet, University of Alberta Jim Brandon, University of Calgary Joe Engemann, Brock University Joe Norris, Brock University Jo Towers, University of Calgary Joe Tin-yau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Jonathan David Anuik, University of Alberta Joseph Levitan, McGill University Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Kim Koh, University of Calgary Krista Francis, University of Calgary Lace Marie Brogden, Laurentian University Larry Prochner, University of Alberta

Lauren Sulz, University of Alberta

Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Lyle Hamm, University of New Brunswick Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Marc Higgins, University of Alberta Maria Cutumisu, University of Alberta Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Megan Laverty, Columbia University Melody Viczko, Western University Merli Tamtik, University of Manitoba Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University Michelle (Shelly) K. Russell-Mayhew, University of Calgary Mijung Kim, University of Alberta Mike Corbett, Acadia University Mike Parr, Nipissing University Nina Howe, Concordia University Oksana Babenko, University of Alberta Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario Pamela Adams University of Lethbridge Paul Hart, University of Regina Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Richard Enns, University of Calgary Randolph Wimmer, University of Alberta Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Rita Gardiner, University of Western Ontario Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Roma Chumak-Horbatsch, Ryerson University Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University Saad Chahine, Queen's University Sandra Dixon, Lethbridge Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria Sharon Pelech, University of Lethbridge Shauna Butterwick, University of British Columbia Shibao Guo, University of Calgary Steven Khan, University of Alberta Susan M Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University Susan M. Drake, Brock University Tanya Beran, University of Calgary Thelma Gunn, University of Lethbridge Toni Samek, University of Alberta V. P. Joshith, Central University of Kerala Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Education Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong William Dunn, University of Alberta Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, Lexington Yan Guo, University of Calgary Ying Cui, University of Alberta