## The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

**ajer** is a quarterly journal devoted to the dissemination, criticism, interpretation, and encouragement of all forms of systematic inquiry into education and fields related to or associated with education.

## Staff

Editor Anna Kirova

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik
Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Eva Revitt

Irene Wolfstone Michelle Hawks

AJER Editorial Review Board
(listed on next page)

**ajer** gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

## AJER Editorial Review Board

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Pontificia Universidad Católica

Madre y Maestra (PUCMM) Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta

Allan Murray MacKinnon, Simon Fraser University

Andre P. Grace, University of Alberta Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Astrid Steele, Nipissing University Barry Down, Murdoch University Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Brooke Madden, University of Alberta Bruno Zumbo, University of British Columbia

Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Education Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta

Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Clive Nigel Hickson, University of Alberta

Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University

David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge

David Geelan, Griffith University
David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University
Dawn C. Wallin, University of Saskatchewan
Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge
Diane Dagenais, Simon Fraser University

Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University

Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta

Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE

Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino

Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta
Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba
George Georgiou, University of Alberta
Gregory Ogilvie, University of Lethbridge
Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia
Heather Rintoul, Nipissing University
Helen Joanna Boon, James Cook University
Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary

Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary James Anderson, University of British Columbia

James C. Field, University of Calgary jan jagodzinski, University of Alberta Jane Hewes, Thompson Rivers University

Jane P. Preston, University of Prince Edward Island

Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberta Jason Wallin, University of Alberta

Jean-Claude Couture, Alberta Teachers' Association

Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Jennifer Sumsion, Charles Sturt University Jessica Van Vliet, University of Alberta Joe Engemann, Brock University Joe Norris, Brock University

Jo Towers, University of Calgary

Joe Tin-yau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education

Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Jonathan David Anuik, University of Alberta

Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Julian Kitchen, Brock University

Kelleen Toohey, Simon Fraser University Krista Francis, University of Calgary Laara Fitznor, University of Manitoba Lauren Sulz, University of Alberta

Lace Marie Brogden, Laurentian University Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Lee Mason Schaefer, University of Regina

Lia Daniels, University of Alberta
Lisa Korteweg, Lakehead University
Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University
Lyle Hamm, University of New Brunswick
Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta
Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University
Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke

Man-Wai Chu, University of Alberta Maria Cutumisu, University of Alberta

Marianne McTavish, University of British Columbia

Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Marc Higgins, University of Alberta

Mehrunnisa Ahmad Ali, Ryerson University CERIS - The

Ontario Metropolis Centre

Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University

Michelle (Shelly) K Russell-Mayhew, University of Calgary

Mijung Kim, University of Alberta Mike Corbett, Acadia University

Mike James Keppell, Taylor's University

Mike Parr, Nipissing University Nina Howe, Concordia University

Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario

Paul Hart, University of Regina

Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Peter Jonathon Bates, University of Windsor Randolph Wimmer, University of Alberta Richard Enns, University of Calgary Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University

Richard Smith, School of Indigenous Graduate Studies; Te

Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi

Rita Gardiner, University of Western Ontario Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Roma Chumak-Horbatsch, Ryerson University Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria Sharon Pelech, University of Lethbridge

Shauna Butterwick, University of British Columbia

Shibao Guo, University of Calgary Steven Khan, University of Alberta

Susan M. Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University

Susan M. Drake, Brock University Susan Tilley, Brock University Tanya Beran, University of Calgary Tom Dust, University of Alberta Toni Samek, University of Alberta

V. P. Joshith, Central University of Kerala

Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Education

Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong William Dunn, University of Alberta Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, Lexington

Yan Guo, University of Calgary Ying Cui, University of Alberta