## The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

**ajer** is a quarterly journal devoted to the dissemination, criticism, interpretation, and encouragement of all forms of systematic inquiry into education and fields related to or associated with education.

## Staff

Editor Book Review Editor Administrator Editorial Assistant Translator Anna Kirova Jonathan Anuik Yvonne Norton Leah Armontrout Spencer Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors:

Danielle Lorenz Bridget Stirling Eva Revitt Irene Wolfstone Michelle Hawks

AJER Editorial Review Board

(listed on next page)

**ajer** gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Pontificia Universidad Católica Madre y Maestra (PUCMM) Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Allan Murray MacKinnon, Simon Fraser University Andre P. Grace, University of Alberta Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Astrid Steele, Nipissing University Barry Down, Murdoch University Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Brooke Madden, University of Alberta Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Education Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Clive Nigel Hickson, University of Alberta Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge David Geelan, Griffith University David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University Dawn C. Wallin, University of Saskatchewan Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge Diane Dagenais, Simon Fraser University Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta Elizabeth Lee, Queen's University Emery Hyslop-Margison, University of New Brunswick Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba George Georgiou, University of Alberta Gregory Ogilvie, University of Lethbridge Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Heather Rintoul, Nipissing University Helen Joanna Boon, James Cook University Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Isabelle Arcand, University of Ottawa J. Tim Goddard, University of Prince Edward Island Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary James C. Field, University of Calgary ian jagodzinski. University of Alberta Jane Hewes, Grant MacEwan University Jane P. Preston, University of Prince Edward Island Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberta Jason Wallin, University of Alberta Jean-Claude Couture, Alberta Teachers' Association Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Jennifer Sumsion, Charles Sturt University Jim Anderson, University of British Columbia Joe Engemann, Brock University Joe Norris, Brock University Jo Towers, University of Calgary Joe Tin-yau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Jonathan David Anuik. University of Alberta Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Julian Kitchen, Brock University Kelleen Toohev, Simon Fraser University Krista Francis, University of Calgary

Laara Fitznor, University of Manitoba Lauren Sulz, University of Alberta Lace Marie Brogden, University of Regina Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Lee Mason Schaefer, University of Regina Lia Daniels, University of Alberta Lisa Korteweg, Lakehead University Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University Lvnn Thomas. Université de Sherbrooke Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Marianne McTavish, University of British Columbia Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Marc Higgins, University of Alberta Mehrunnisa Ahmad Ali, Rverson University CERIS -The Ontario Metropolis Centre Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University Michelle (Shelly) K Russell-Mayhew, University of Calgary Mijung Kim, University of Alberta Mike Corbett, Acadia University Mike James Keppell, Swinburne University of Technology Mike Parr, Nipissing University Mr. Peter Jonathon Bates, University of Windsor Nancy Arthur, University of Calgary Nina Howe, Concordia University Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario Paul Hart, University of Regina Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Richard Enns, University of Calgary Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Richard Smith, School of Indigenous Graduate Studies; Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Rita Gardiner, University of Western Ontario Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Roma Chumak-Horbatsch, Ryerson University Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria Sharon Pelech, University of Lethbridge Shauna Butterwick, University of British Columbia Shellev Stagg Peterson, OISE/University of Toronto Shibao Guo, University of Alberta Steven Khan, University of Alberta Susan M Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University Susan M. Drake, Brock University Susan Tillev. Brock University Tanya Beran, University of Calgary Tom Dust, University of Alberta Toni Samek, University of Alberta V. P. Joshith, Central University of Kerala Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Education Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong William Dunn, University of Alberta Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, Lexington Yan Guo, University of Alberta Ying Cui, University of Alberta