## The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

**ajer** is a quarterly journal devoted to the dissemination, criticism, interpretation, and encouragement of all forms of systematic inquiry into education and fields related to or associated with education.

## Staff

Editor Anna Kirova

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik
Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Eva Revitt

Irene Wolfstone Janine Kristensen Michelle Hawks

AJER Editorial Review Board

(listed on next page)

**ajer** gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

## AJER Editorial Review Board

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Pontificia Universidad Kelleen Toohev, Simon Fraser University Católica Madre v Maestra (PUCMM) Krista Francis, University of Calgary Laara Fitznor, University of Manitoba Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Allan Murray MacKinnon, Simon Fraser University Lauren Sulz, University of Alberta Andre P. Grace, University of Alberta Lace Marie Brogden, University of Regina Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Astrid Steele, Nipissing University Lee Mason Schaefer, University of Regina Barry Down, Murdoch University Lia Daniels, University of Alberta Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Lisa Korteweg, Lakehead University Brooke Madden, University of Alberta Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta Lvnn Butler-Kisber, McGill University Education Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Clive Nigel Hickson, University of Alberta Marianne McTavish, University of British Columbia Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge Marc Higgins, University of Alberta David Geelan, Griffith University Mehrunnisa Ahmad Ali, Ryerson University CERIS -David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University The Ontario Metropolis Centre Dawn C. Wallin, University of Saskatchewan Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University Dawn Burleigh, University of Lethbridge Michelle (Shelly) K Russell-Mayhew, University of Diane Dagenais, Simon Fraser University Calgary Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University Mijung Kim, University of Alberta Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta Mike Corbett, Acadia University Elizabeth Lee, Queen's University Mike James Keppell, Swinburne University of Emery Hyslop-Margison, University of New Brunswick Technology Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Mike Parr, Nipissing University Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Mr. Peter Jonathon Bates, University of Windsor Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Nancy Arthur, University of Calgary Bernardino Nina Howe, Concordia University Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba Paul Hart, University of Regina George Georgiou, University of Alberta Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Gregory Ogilvie, University of Lethbridge Richard Enns, University of Calgary Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Heather Rintoul, Nipissing University Richard Smith, School of Indigenous Graduate Studies; Helen Joanna Boon, James Cook University Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Rita Gardiner, University of Western Ontario Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Isabelle Arcand, University of Ottawa Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba J. Tim Goddard, University of Prince Edward Island Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba James C. Field, University of Calgary Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria ian jagodzinski. University of Alberta Sharon Pelech, University of Lethbridge Jane Hewes, Grant MacEwan University Shauna Butterwick, University of British Columbia Shelley Stagg Peterson, OISE/University of Toronto Jane P. Preston, University of Prince Edward Island Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberta Shibao Guo, University of Alberta Susan M Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University Jason Wallin, University of Alberta Jean-Claude Couture, Alberta Teachers' Association Susan M. Drake, Brock University Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Susan Tillev, Brock University Jennifer Sumsion, Charles Sturt University Tanya Beran, University of Calgary Jim Anderson, University of British Columbia Tom Dust, University of Alberta Joe Engemann, Brock University Toni Samek, University of Alberta Jo Towers, University of Calgary Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Joe Tin-yau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education Education Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong Jonathan David Anuik, University of Alberta William Dunn, University of Alberta Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Xin Ma. University of Kentucky, Lexington Julian Kitchen, Brock University Yan Guo, University of Alberta

Ying Cui, University of Alberta