The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

ajer is a quarterly journal devoted to the dissemination, criticism, interpretation, and encouragement of all forms of systematic inquiry into education and fields related to or associated with education.

Staff

Editor Gregory P. Thomas

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik

Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Eva Revitt

Janine Kristensen

AJER Editorial Review Board
(listed on next page)

ajer gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

AJER Editorial Review Board

Abraham Barouch Gilbert, Technological Institute Joe Tin-vau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education of Santo Domingo (INTEC) Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Jonathan David Anuik, University of Alberta Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Allan Murray MacKinnon, Simon Fraser University Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Julian Kitchen, Brock University Astrid Steele, Nipissing University Kelleen Toohey, Simon Fraser University Barry Down, Murdoch University Krista Francis, University of Calgary Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Laara Fitznor, University of Manitoba Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School Lauren Suz, University of Alberta Lace Marie Brogden, University of Regina of Education Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Lee Mason Schaefer, University of Regina Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Lia Daniels, University of Alberta Clive Nigel Hickson, University of Alberta Lisa Korteweg, Lakehead University Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Darcey M. Dachyshyn, Aga Khan University Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta David Ackerman, California State University, Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University Northridge Lvnn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke David Geelan, Griffith University Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta David Reid, Acadia University Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University Marianne McTavish, University of British Dawn C. Wallin, University of Saskatchewan Columbia Diane Dagenais, Simon Fraser University Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt Mehrunnisa Ahmad Ali, Ryerson University University CERIS - The Ontario Metropolis Centre Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University Elizabeth Lee, Queen's University Michelle (Shelly) K Russell-Mayhew, University Emery Hyslop-Margison, University of New of Calgary Mike Corbett, Acadia University Brunswick Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Mike James Keppell, Swinburne University of Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Technology Mike Parr, Nipissing University Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino Mr. Peter Jonathon Bates, University of Windsor Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta Nina Howe, Concordia University Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario George Georgiou, University of Alberta Paul Hart, University of Regina Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Heather Rintoul, Nipissing University Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Helen Joanna Boon, James Cook University Rita Gardiner, University of Western Ontario Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Ingrid Johnston, University of Alberta Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University Isabelle Arcand, University of Ottawa Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba J. Tim Goddard, University of Prince Edward Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria Shauna Butterwick, University of British Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary Columbia Shelley Stagg Peterson, OISE/University of James C. Field, University of Calgary jan jagodzinski, University of Alberta Jane Hewes, Grant MacEwan University Susan M Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent Jane P. Preston, University of Prince Edward University Susan M. Drake, Brock University Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberts Susan Tilley, Brock University Jason Wallin, University of Alberta Tom Dust, University of Alberta Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Jean-Claude Couture, Alberta Teachers' Association Education Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong Jennifer Sumsion, Charles Sturt University William Dunn, University of Alberta Jim Anderson, University of British Columbia Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, Lexington

Ying Cui, University of Alberta

Assistance Center

Zhaogang Qiao, Community Training and

Joe Engemann, Brock University

Jo Towers, University of Calgary