The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

ajer is a quarterly journal devoted to the dissemination, criticism, interpretation, and encouragement of all forms of systematic inquiry into education and fields related to or associated with education.

Staff

Editor Gregory P. Thomas

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik

Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Danielle Lorenz

Joanna Gill

Susan Chaudoir

AJER Editorial Review Board (listed on next page)

ajer gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

AJER Editorial Review Board

Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Allan Murray MacKinnon, Simon Fraser University Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Astrid Steele, Nipissing University Barry Down, Murdoch University Bonnie Watt, University of Alberta Bruno Zumbo, University of British Columbia Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Education Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Clive Nigel Hickson, University of Alberta Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University Darcey M. Dachyshyn, Aga Khan University David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge David Geelan, Griffith University David Reid, Acadia University David Zandvliet, Simon Fraser University Dawn Wallin, University of Saskatchewan Diane Dagenais, Simon Fraser University Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta Elizabeth Lee, Queen's University Emery Hyslop-Margison, University of New Brunswick Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino Evelyn Steinhauer, University of Alberta Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba George Georgiou, University of Alberta Guodong Liang, Community Training and Assistance Center, University of Missouri Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Heather Rintoul, Nipissing University Helen Joanna Boon, James Cook University Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Ingrid Johnston, University of Alberta Isabelle Arcand, University of Ottawa J. Tim Goddard, University of Prince Edward Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary James C. Field, University of Calgary jan jagodzinski, University of Alberta Jane Hewes, Grant MacEwan University Jane P. Preston, University of Prince Edward Island Janelle McFeetors, University of Alberts Jason Wallin, University of Alberta Jean-Claude Couture, Alberta Teachers' Association

Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University Jennifer Sumsion, Charles Sturt University

Jim Parsons, University of Alberta

Jim Anderson, University of British Columbia

Joe Engemann, Brock University (retired) Jo Towers, University of Calgary Joe Tin-yau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Jonathan David Anuik, University of Alberta Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Julian Kitchen, Brock University Kelleen Toohey, Simon Fraser University Krista Francis, University of Calgary Laara Fitznor, University of Manitoba Lauren Suz, University of Alberta Lace Marie Brogden, University of Regina Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Lee Mason Schaefer, University of Regina Lia Daniels, University of Alberta Lisa Korteweg, Lakehead University Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta Man Wai Chu, University of Calgary Marianne McTavish, University of British Columbia Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Mehrunnisa Ahmad Ali, Ryerson University **CERIS** - The Ontario Metropolis Centre Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University Michelle (Shelly) K Russell-Mayhew, University Mike Corbett, Acadia University Mike James Keppell, Swinburne University of Technology Mike Parr, Nipissing University Mr. Peter Jonathon Bates, University of Windsor Nina Howe, Concordia University Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario Paul Hart, University of Regina Paul Newton, University of Saskatchewan Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Rita Gardiner, University of Western Ontario Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Roumiana Ilieva, Simon Fraser University Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria Shauna Butterwick, University of British Shelley Stagg Peterson, OISE/University of **Toronto** Susan M Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University Susan M. Drake, Brock University Tom Dust, University of Alberta Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of Education Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong William Dunn, University of Alberta Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, Lexington

Ying Cui, University Of Alberta