The Alberta Journal of Educational Research

Published in Spring, Summer, Fall, and Winter by the Faculty of Education, University of Alberta

ajer is a quarterly journal devoted to the dissemination, criticism, interpretation, and encouragement of all forms of systematic inquiry into education and fields related to or associated with education.

Staff

Editor Gregory P. Thomas

Book Review Editor Jonathan Anuik
Administrator Yvonne Norton

Editorial Assistant Leah Armontrout Spencer

Translator Dorine Chalifoux

Copy Editors: Cathryn Van Kessel

Danielle Lorenz

Joanna Gill

Leslie Robinson Lindsay Herriot

Nicole Day

Pamela Timanson Susan Chaudoir

AJER Editorial Review Board

(listed on next page)

ajer gratefully acknowledges support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada and the Alberta Advisory Committee for Educational Studies.

www.ajer.ca

AJER Editorial Review Board

Alexandra Fidyk, University of Alberta Allan Murray MacKinnon, Simon Fraser University Andrew M. A. Allen, University of Windsor Angus McMurtry, University of Ottawa Bob Adamson, Hong Kong Institute of Education Brenda Gustafson, University of Alberta Carlo Ricci, Nipissing University, Schulich School of Education Cheryl Poth, University of Alberta Chris Jenkins, University of Northern Colorado Christina Rinaldi, University of Alberta Claudia Eppert, University of Alberta Clive Nigel Hickson, University of Alberta Daniel Jarvis, Nipissing University Darcey M. Dachyshyn, Aga Khan University David Ackerman, California State University, Northridge David Geelan, Griffith University David Reid, Acadia University Diane Dagenais, Simon Fraser University Donna Chovanec, University of Alberta Donna Mathewson Mitchell, Charles Sturt University Doug Gleddie, University of Alberta Elizabeth Lee, Queen's University Emery Hyslop-Margison, University of New **Brunswick** Erika L Hasebe-Ludt, University of Lethbridge Eunice Jang, University of Toronto, OISE Eun-Ok Baek, California State University, San Bernardino Francine Lee Morin, University of Manitoba George Georgiou, University of Alberta Gillian Kidman, Queensland University of **Technology** Guodong Liang, Community Training and Assistance Center Hartej Gill, University of British Columbia Heather Rintoul, Nipissing University Helen Joanna Boon, James Cook University Hetty Roessingh, University of Calgary Ingrid Johnston, University of Alberta Isabelle Arcand, University of Ottawa J. Tim Goddard, University of Prince Edward Jac John William Andrews, University of Calgary James C. Field, University of Calgary jan jagodzinski, University of Alberta Jane Hewes, Grant MacEwan University Jane P. Preston, University of Prince Edward Island Jason Wallin, University of Alberta Jean-Claude Couture, Alberta Teachers' Association

Jeff Sugarman, Simon Fraser University

Jim Parsons, University of Alberta

Joe Engemann, Brock University

Jennifer Sumsion, Charles Sturt University Jim Anderson, University of British Columbia

John Barnett, University of Western Ontario

Joe Tin-yau LO, Hong Kong Institute of Education

John O. Anderson, University of Victoria Jon C. Young, University of Manitoba Jonathan David Anuik, University of Alberta Joseph Flessa, University of Toronto, OISE Julia Ellis, University of Alberta Julian Kitchen, Brock University Kelleen Toohey, Simon Fraser University Krista Francis-Poscente, University of Calgary Laara Fitznor, University of Manitoba Lace Marie Brogden, University of Regina Larry Prochner, University of Alberta Lee Mason Schaefer, University of Regina Lia Daniels, University of Alberta Linda Farr Darling, University of British Columbia Lorayne Robertson, University of Ontario **Institute of Technology** Lorenzo Cherubini, Brock University Lynette Shultz, University of Alberta Lynn Butler-Kisber, McGill University Lynn Thomas, Université de Sherbrooke Lynne Wiltse, University of Alberta Marianne McTavish, University of British Columbia Mark Hirschkorn, University of New Brunswick Marlene Atleo, University of Manitoba Mehrunnisa Ahmad Ali, Ryerson University **CERIS - The Ontario Metropolis Centre** Michail Kalogiannakis, University of Crete Michelle Pidgeon, Simon Fraser University Michelle (Shelly) K Russell-Mayhew, University of Calgary Mike Corbett, Acadia University Mike James Keppell, University of Southern Queensland Mike Parr, Nipissing University Mr. Peter Jonathon Bates, University of Windsor Nina Howe, Concordia University Pam Bishop, University of Western Ontario Paul Hart, University of Regina Prof Mark Bray, University of Hong Kong Richard Morehouse, Viterbo University Robert Renaud, University of Manitoba Rosemary Foster, University of Alberta Ruth A. Childs, OISE/IÉPO of the University of Toronto Sandra G. Kouritzin, University of Manitoba Sandra Louise Gibbons, University of Victoria Seth A. Parsons, George Mason University Shauna Butterwick, University of British Columbia Shelley Stagg Peterson, OISE/University of **Toronto** Susan M Brigham, Mount Saint Vincent University Susan M. Drake, Brock University Wai Mui Christina Yu, Hong Kong Institute of

Wendy Nielsen, University of Wollongong

Xin Ma, University of Kentucky, Lexington